Unrar utilities in Debian Etch

I have not had any success of using ‘unrar-free’ application to extract any encrypted .rar file. After spending time googling, I found out that I should use the non-free version instead. However, a basic installation of Debian Etch does not include the ‘unrar’ non-free version. Therefore, I need to edit the /etc/apt/sources.list file and include a non-free mirror into it.

1) So, I first of all go to http://www.debian.org/distrib/packages, and search for ‘unrar’ in the search package directories.

2) I found two results for Debian Etch, etch-stable non-free and etch-stable free. I click on the non-free version link.

3) On the linked page, under the Download Unrar at the bottom, I click on a corresponding type of my computer architecture such as i386.

4) I see several source mirrors, I pick mirrors.kernel.org/debian.

5) On the top of that page, I see how to add a source mirror to the /etc/apt/sources.list file. I do the following.

>vi /etc/apt/sources.list

Then, add the following lines to the end of the file:

deb http://mirrors.kernel.org/debian etch main non-free

Next, I save and close the sources.list file.

6) I open synaptic package manager and click reload.

7) I search for ‘unrar’ in the synaptic. Here it is, I see ‘unrar’ version (not the unrar-free version). I install it.

8) Now, I can extract any encrypted .rar file using the following command.

>unrar e anyfile.rar

Then, the unrar will ask me for a password. I enter the correct password and it is done.

This entry was posted in Linux. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Unrar utilities in Debian Etch

  1. Jon N says:

    thanks for this I just downloaded the link you provided and installed it worked a treat đŸ˜€

  2. carter says:

    exactly works!

  3. Lucas says:

    Thanks. This worked brilliantly for me.

  4. Arkantos says:

    thank you so much.

  5. Elijah says:

    oh mate thanx a bunch, this is so useful and easy

  6. pj says:

    Thanks. I needed the lowdown on that to read a cbr file in debian etch with cbrpager.

    PJ

  7. David L. says:

    Thank you very much, very easy and well explained.

  8. softice says:

    Great, thanks for the tip!

  9. zhou says:

    work perfectly, thank u so much

Leave a Reply

